After you’ve synced external accounts (from other institutions) to Betterment, you may have reason to remove them. Perhaps you’d like to filter out an account from your personal net worth, or maybe you’re done using a certain account and you’d like to remove the information altogether.
You have the option to either remove the external account—and all its accounts—or simply hide a specific account from Betterment.
Deleting a Synced External Account
To delete a synced external account, select "Settings" from the menu and then "External Accounts". Click "Delete" to the far right of the account you wish to remove.
When you delete an external account, that move cannot be undone, but you can always sync the account(s) again.
If the external account was also linked as your bank account for funding purposes, deleting the external account will sever the electronic link and create a manual link to your bank account instead. This means you won’t be able to use certain features that depend on the electronic link, like cash analysis or Two-Way Sweep.
Hiding an External Account
You can hide a specific account to prevent it from showing up on your Betterment overview or being included in your total net worth. Hiding an account can be done from "External Accounts" by clicking "Edit" next to the specific account you wish to hide.