After you’ve synced external accounts from other institutions into your Betterment profile, you may have reason to remove them after changes occur. Perhaps you’d like to filter out an account from your personal net worth, or maybe you’re done using a certain account, so you’d like to remove the information altogether.
You have the option to either remove the external firm—and all its accounts—or simply hide a specific account from your Betterment account summary.
Removing a Synced Firm/Institution
To delete a synced firm, you will should log in to your Betterment account, and navigate to the top right of the screen to select the dropdown menu next to your account name.
Choose “Settings,” then select the tab labeled “External accounts.”
Once you choose the firm you’d like to delete, you can select “Delete Firm” on the bottom right. All accounts at that specific institution will be removed.
When you delete a firm, that move cannot be undone, but you can always sync the account(s) again.
Hiding an External Account in Betterment
You can hide a specific account to prevent it from showing up on your Betterment summary or from being added to your net worth. Hiding an account can be done from your Betterment summary.